We were delighted to welcome back BHC member, Peter Davey, Bristol’s unique ‘tram man’ to recount the story of Bristol’s trams, sadly no longer visible in the city, though other cities like Sheffield and Nottingham have decided that trams are an excellent way of transporting large numbers of people quickly round the city. In Bristol the first trams were seen on St Michael’s Hill in 1875 (where the current Zero Degrees restaurant is situated) and the last one went up Whiteladies Road on 15th June 1939. Electric trams were to be seen on Old Market Street as early as 1895, run from the Bristol Tramways Company’s power station in the building which previously housed Finzel’s Sugar Refinery. Some trams have had an afterlife, such as one built in 1896/7 which became a garden shed in 1900, and a century later was lifted out and is now on show in the new Concorde museum! Peter showed us lots of lovely memorabilia – ticket machines, signs and a notice telling people not to touch the electric wires! He has a small museum in his garage, and this can also be visited by groups – thanks for a nostalgic evening, Peter!